Friday Fitness Finds 8/11

Strange that I’m having to intro this now. First time on the new site! RAD.

Friday Fitness Finds is a weekly rundown of some of the cool sites, articles, deals, etc. that I’ve found since the last post. Much like Monday’s post, this is a carry-over from my other blog.

As I write this, I’m thinking about how much I’ve not done this week physically. I’ve been busy, yeah, but I’ve not been busy bettering myself in any real way. I told a girl at work today that it has probably been the laziest week I’ve had all year. I’ve been working on some custom workouts for my weekend sessions at TITLE, however, and I’m excited to knock those out (pun intended), go to Bootcamp in the morning, maybe get in a few miles and do a quick PT session with the mitts. Also coming up this weekend: a cheese fries dinner party and a fierce session of Dungeons & Dragons. No shame.

Anyway, let’s get on with the cool stuff I found this week:

  • Conquer a Crappy Gym With These 7 Creative Workouts by Shannon Clark via Bodybuilding.com
    We’ve all seen those dinky gyms in the hotels while we’re on vacation or traveling for work. If you’re like me, you’ll see those and immediately think, “I guess I’m not working out this week…” but that’s a shitty attitude to have. Some of these example workouts can even be done in the hotel room…or in your basement…or your bedroom…or even a crowded gym when you don’t have time to stand around and wait for meatheads to stop using the equipment. No excuses, y’all!
  • Your “Inner Chest” is a Real Thing and This is Why It Sucks by John Romaniello via Roman Fitness Systems
    Roman is back again with a great article on the science of how your chest muscles work, why they work that way, how to work them and why yours suck so hard. He makes some great points and includes a few pretty basic no-brainer exercises that we all often skip because they just don’t occur to us, very much like this particular muscle group.
  • How to Train for Fat Loss First-Thing in the Morning! by Paul Salter, MS, RD via Bodybuilding.com
    This article primarily focuses on morning nutrition. Personally, I like to eat a protein bar before I do anything else in the morning. I feel like I perform better running, lifting or boxing if I do so. Also, if I don’t eat anything within about half an hour of waking up, I’ll feel sick all morning. Can’t have that!

    It’s also worth noting, however, that there’s no such thing as a one-size-fits-all approach to morning nutrition. You have to figure out what works best for you and do it. The doctor’s notes here, however, should help you make educated decisions.

  • Bodyweight Training for Weight Loss by Lunden Souza via Runtastic
    This is a pretty basic, very simple introduction to the effectiveness of bodyweight-only training. This is relevant for several reasons. First, if you’re just getting started exercising, bodyweight exercises are a great way to build a base of strength. So many balance and core strength exercises can be done with bodyweight and that little bit of strength can be just what you need to get started. If you’re more advanced, bodyweight exercises are still nothing to ignore because being able to lift, pull and push your bodyweight around takes legit strength. I don’t care how many plates you can lift, if you struggle with your own body weight, you don’t have true strength. I’m about to start back on a bodyweight-only routine that I’ll share on the site once I get it written.
  • Back to SWOLE Sale by Flex Comics
    Nothing to read here but there’s definitely some good deals going on at Flex Comics. 20% off select items through the 20th. I love my Thor Dost Thou Even Lift? tank and am thinking about getting those Deadpool leggings. If you’re a geek and you’re into fitness, this site truly brings those elements together.

So that’s a lot of stuff to share this week — a pretty good list in comparison to some other weeks — but we’re not quite finished yet. There’s one more segment I like to include and it’s called…

Music to Lift Heavy/Run Fast-ish/Punch Hard To

This week I learned about a new band called Fireburn. Made up of former members of Bad Brains, Terror and Danzig, Fireburn have announced the release of their debut EP and are streaming the whole thing on YouTube. Listen to a banger below and then Pre-Order the Vinyl.


Anyway, that’s how these posts work. Hope you dig. Let me know.

Leave a comment